Harlaxton College Logo

About Us

Harlaxton College faculty work with students to provide a living and learning environment.

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council of Harlaxton College has been in existence for three decades, since its founding by the revered former principal Dr. Paul Bulger. These distinguished local citizens give freely of their time to advise the College on matters related to the academic program, management of the estate, student life, and community involvement. Members often host distinguished guests from the United States, particularly trustees and the president or other administrators and faculty members from the home campus. On occasion, Advisory Council members travel to America to represent Harlaxton College.

Mrs. Henrietta Chubb is Chairman of the Advisory Council. Professor John Coyne, CBE, Vice Chancellor of the University of Derby (retired), chairs the Academic Committee, Mr Tom Bagge chairs the Estate Management Committee, Mrs. Barbara Lawry chairs the Student Life Committee, and Mr. David Armes leads the Meet a Family Experience.

The Advisory Council will meet on 09 March 2017and 19 October 2017.

Advisory Council Committees as of February 2017

Executive Committee

Meeting dates:07 February 2017 and 12 September 2017

  • Mrs. Henrietta Chubb (Chairman)
  • Mr. David Armes (Vice Chairman)
  • Mr. Robert Brownlow (Vice Chairman)
  • Lady Benton Jones OBE

Student Life and Community Relations Committee

Meeting dates:01 February 2017 and 5 April 2017

  • Mrs. Barbara Lawry (Chairman)
  • Mr. David Armes (Chairman of the Meet a Family Experience)
  • Mr. Ken Ackroyd
  • Mr. Robert Brownlow
  • Mrs. Andrea Large
  • Mr. Bruce Roberts

Academic Committee

Meeting dates:09 March 2017

  • Professor John Coyne, CBE, Vice Chancellor (retired), University of Derby (Chairman)
  • Professor Matthew Cragoe, Pro Vice Chancellor and Head of the College of Arts, University of Lincoln
  • Mr Frank Hedley, Head of The King’s School, Grantham
  • Professor David Middleton, Honorary Reader in Psychology, Loughborough University
  • Professor David Worrall, Professor of English and Research Leader, Nottingham Trent University

Estate Management Committee

Meeting dates:20 February 2017, 4 September 2017 and 19 February 2018

  • Mr. Tom Bagge (late of Strutt and Parker, Stamford) (Chairman)
  • Mr. Robert Brackenbury, Holme Pierrepoint Hall
  • Mr. Vincent Hedley Lewis (late of Deloitte & Touche, Cambridge)
  • Mr. Tim S Kelway BA, Partner, Tallents Solicitors

Of Counsel

  • Mrs. Louise Averill
  • Mr. Charles Dormer
  • Lady Gretton
  • Her Grace, The Duchess of Rutland
  • Professor Mary Stuart, Vice Chancellor, University of Lincoln